Nominations open for Laetare Medal through September 20


Mc 5

Each year at this time, the Laetare Medal Recommendation Committee convenes to propose recommendations for the President's consideration. On behalf of the committee, Rev. Austin I. Collins, C.S.C.Vice President for Mission Engagement and Church Affairs, invites faculty, staff and community members to submit recommendations for this prestigious award by clicking the following link - 2023 Laetare Medal Nomination.

Established in 1883 by Rev. Edward Sorin, C.S.C., the Laetare Medal has been awarded annually at Notre Dame to a Catholic, “whose genius has ennobled the arts and sciences, illustrated the ideals of the Church, and enriched the heritage of humanity.” In awarding the Laetare Medal, the University strives to recognize the diversity of fields in which United States Catholics make contributions to society and the diversity of the United States Catholic community itself.

The recipient of the Laetare Medal will be a citizen of the United States whose Catholic faith deeply informs his or her life and actions. The Medalist will have made significant contributions to society through sustained and illustrious accomplishments within his or her chosen field. Previous recipients of the Laetare Medal include novelist Walker Percy, jazz composer Dave Brubeck, Franciscan scholar Sr. Thea Bowman, actor Martin Sheen, labor activist Msgr. George G. Higgins, and Catholic Worker foundress Dorothy Day. If you would like to learn more about the Laetare Medal or view past recipients, please visit the Laetare website.

The deadline for submission of names is Tuesday, September 20, 2022, at 5:00 PM EST.