Hesburgh Libraries faculty and staff receive annual awards for excellence


Nlwd 2023

On Tuesday, April 25, 2023, during National Library Week, the Hesburgh Libraries held their annual recognition celebration. Library staff and faculty members were recognized for milestone years of service; several staff members received a Library Award for Excellence and select faculty received a Zavislak Library Faculty Recognition Award.

First sponsored in 1958, National Library Week is a national observance sponsored by the American Library Association and libraries across the country each April. It is a time to celebrate the contributions of our nation's libraries and library workers and to promote library use and support. This year, National Library Week is April 23 – 29. Tuesday of National Library Week is designated as National Library Workers Day and is a chance to recognize the people who make libraries work. 

During the welcome remarks, the dean of Hesburgh Libraries reflected on the theme for National Library Week 2023—There’s More to the Story. This year's theme shines a light on the many ways — both visible and behind the scenes — that libraries support the communities they serve.

“The most important part of our story is all of you and the work, expertise, and skills that each of you brings to advancing the mission of the University of Notre Dame,” said K. Matthew Dames, Edward H. Arnold Dean, Hesburgh Libraries and University of Notre Dame Press. “As we work with the University to implement a new strategic framework, one constant remains: library expertise, services, resources, and spaces are vital to fostering academic excellence and evolving the many ways we work to support research, teaching, and learning.”

In honor of their work, expertise, and dedication, special recognition was given to members of the staff and faculty for their exceptional achievements beyond their regular job responsibilities.

Congratulations to our winners of the Zavislak Library Faculty Recognition Award and the Library Staff Award for Excellence. This year’s awardees include:

Zavislak Library Faculty Recognition Award

Aaron Bales — For his achievements in leadership in excellence, teamwork, and accountability during a year of considerable change

Liz Dube — For her leadership and management resulting in a successful resolution of a critical problem

Erika Hosselkus — For her exceptional contributions to Hesburgh Libraries’ priorities, especially the Strategic Framework process

Library Staff Award for Excellence

Rachel Boyd — For demonstrating leadership and initiative during a transitional period for Metadata Services

Erik Dix — For his outstanding teamwork and continuous commitment to advancing the mission of the Hesburgh Libraries

Adam Heet — For his ingenuity, collaborative spirit, and creative problem-solving skills

Nancy Kambol — For her extraordinary work ethic and dedication to the objectives of User Services

Mary Sue Mackey — For continually expanding her skill set and going above and beyond to meet user’s needs

Dana Makinen — For his outstanding work ethic and dedication to high-quality customer service

Mark Suhovecky — For his leadership in excellence, teamwork, and accountability